Baby Gecko Won't Open Eyes

White Shaq

I have recently hatched three baby geckos and they are all normal size and are very active. The first two that hatched, hatched without difficulty and are about to go into shed. The third one hatched without issue and is thriving. The only thing is that he doesn't want to open his eyes. When he hatched and for the first 2 days his eyes were open. After those 2 days I went to look in and noticed his eyes were closed. I needed him to move so I could clean the cage so I gently touched him. He ran away and still won't open them. The only way he opens them is if I drip some water on them. I also noticed that his eyes are either eclipse or are much darker that all of the other ones because they appear solid black and you can't identify the pupils. All of the other hatchlings have their eyes open and are fine. This is my first time so any help or advice would be appreciated.

acpart

Geck-cessories
Staff member
If there are bright lights around, dim them. Continue to do the water thing several times a day and hopefully the eyes will start staying open for longer.

Aliza

White Shaq

I have been continuing to drip water on his eyes. I just thought it was weird because none of the other hatchlings in the same cage are having and problems. Thanks for the advice.

White Shaq

I have been continuing to drip water on his eyes. I have dimmed the lights and cupped my hand over him to seee if he opens his eye(he sometimes will). He still usually keeps his eyes closed or squinted in the terrarium. He is getting better and is keeping them open for longer. I think it might be primarily the lights, so I will dim them when I go to take care of them.

White Shaq

I was just wondering if eclipses are more prone to light sensitivity. Also, do they sometimes hatch with eye deformities that will make them squint or keep them closed. Maybe I'm worrying for nothing since these are my first hatchling ever. Thanks for the advice.

acpart

Geck-cessories