Better Choice: Crested or Leopard?

TripleB

About six years ago I was hoping my son would get a gecko as a pet...mainly because I love the looks (and coolness factor) of both the leopard and crested geckos!

Unfortunately his thoughts went from a pet to video games. In hindsight it was good thing that we opted not to get one because I don't think he would have given it the attention it deserved.

Now I feel is the perfect time for me to get either a crested or leopard gecko as my first reptile.

So what are the advantages and disadvantages of each (availability, ease of care, enjoyment, ease of meeting diet requirements, handling, upkeep, etc.)?

Any words of wisdom about either you would like to share?

Thanks for and all help!

TripleB

Last edited:

The lizards

I have no experience with crested geckos, so I wouldn't be able to tell you about them but I do have experience with leopard geckos. They are a great starter reptile and are available in mostly every pet/reptile store. Their care is very easy, just make sure they have water, mist, scoop their poop, and check on them every so often. As for their food, it's very easy to feed them and as far as I know, their food is available for purchase all over. Some love to be handled, some not so much, you just have to look at their temperament before you buy your new pet!

If there's any other questions you have I'd be happy to help!

acpart

Geck-cessories
Staff member
As you may suspect, it's a matter of personal taste. Here are the basic differences that can help you make up your mind:
--leopard geckos need live food and crested geckos can live without live food (though they really seem to like catching crickets!)
--leopard geckos need belly heat and crested geckos don't really need extra heat but may need cooling if it gets above the low 80's for a protracted period
--leopard geckos are terrestrial (though some do like to climb) and crested geckos are arboreal (though some spend time on the ground)