Can leopard geckos live on sowbugs?

alexmagnei

Hi there, I'm a post graduate looking for a pet companion to own once I leave home and strike out on my own. I like a lot about the leopard geckos' ease of care and affectionate personality. The only thing is I'm not a big fan of invertebrates, particularly wriggly or quick ones, but I have a real softspot for sowbugs/woodlice since I used to play with them as a child, alongside them not being particularly jumpy or squirmy. I'm wondering if it would be possible for leopard geckos to live on a diet of only sowbugs, or would they lack necessary nutrition for leopard geckos? Thanks in advance.

Josh

Administrator
Staff member
Hi Alex welcome to the forum! I see two problems with your proposal. One is where are you going to find enough of the bugs to keep your gecko satisfied, the other is what about variety? I would consider at least 2-3 different protein sources for variety. Dubia roaches are very popular and a great option.

indyana

Not sure anyone has ever tried that, so unless you want to make your gecko a nutritional experiment, I would investigate other options you feel comfortable with.

Some suggestions:
- mealworms (Yes, wriggly, but you can keep them in the fridge until a few days before you want to feed to gutload them, then feed in a dish.)
- dubia roaches (The nymphs are basically like big sowbugs with more chitin than shell?)
- Repashy Grub Pie - not alive, it's a gel made from ground insects

alexmagnei

I see, I'll have to give it a try. I have to admit roaches don't sound like the worst alternative, I'm aware that they're known for carrying diseases, but surely if I buy them from respected retailers they'll be safe.

alphakenc

I second that...they dont jump..dont chirp...dont stink ...
All bugs need to be gutload...so when ur gecko feast on the bug it wont be just bunch Skelton with no nutrition value.