Dented eggs...

cherishedtiger

So, as my previous post stated I have started incubating AFT eggs. Right now I only have 2, but I am pretty sure one of my females will be dropping more soon.

Of the two eggs one of them looks like its partially deflated, or dented. Is this a sure sign of a bad egg or non fertilzed egg? Or does it happen and could still be good?

Here are the eggs right after I put them in the incubator, its the back egg, not sure you can really make it out on this wonderful iPhone pic.
395928_10150621847886341_617161340_11435944_1132453704_n.jpg

gixxer3420

It could be that you need more moisture in your deli cup. I incubate all my eggs in a deli cup deli cup has 4-6 small holes in the side and I use a lid on the deli cup to help keep the moisture in.

cherishedtiger

ok, I wasnt sure, luckily when I bought the cups, I grabbed lids too. I will lid and vent them tonight when I get home. Thank you for the advice!! :D its very much appreciated as this is my first time breeding geckos.

KelliH

You might want to try covering the dented eggs up with the incubation medium for a few days. Sometimes that will help them plump back up if they are not too far gone yet. Good luck!

gixxer3420

I use holes in my deli cups so I dont have to mess around opening 80-100 lids. I suggest using deli cups with holes but I know others that dont and it works for them but I stick with what works for me.

cherishedtiger

how big of holes? are you talking big enough when they hatch babies can crawl out... or just "breathing" holes? I punched small air holes into mine. Just trying to get a mental visual.

Thank you for all the help!

cherishedtiger

awesome!! thanks for the vid! That looks about the same as I got going so I think I am on the right track. Oh, I went from 2 little eggs, to now 6. So I think they are doing pretty good!

cherishedtiger

Just an update!