Help with setup

PaysonHobbyist

Hello,

I recently purchased two leopard geckos at a reptile expo and talked for quite a while to the breeder before doing so. It was very informative and exciting but this is completely new to me as I have no experience with reptiles. I am typically the type of person who does a ton of research or my own first but this was an impulse buy of sorts and I am kind of regretting it. Not because I regret having the geckos but because I regret not doing more research and being more prepared beforehand.

I have a simple enclosure set up for each of the geckos but want to make sure I have done it correctly and see what I can do to make it more comfortable and natural for them.

I want to make sure sizes of everything I have are okay and also make sure I am not missing anything.

I have the same setup for each gecko (one male and one female). Here is what I currently have.

I have a 10 gallon aquarium with a screened lid.

I have a small heat pad that covers just over a third of the tank under the tank with a thermometer that keeps it around 90 degrees.

On top of that I have medium sized hide that I am afraid may have too small of an opening when they get older and also takes up a lot of the tank as it is kind of flat and spread out.

I have not added anything for humidity yet but will be adding a small Tupperware container with damp spaghnum moss today. I am not sure what size container to get or how large of a hole to cut into it or if I should get a specific one from the pet store. It will go on the cooler side of the enclosure.

I also have a hide on the cooler side that is one of the cork (I think) logs. I guessed on the size based on what I thought (with my lack of knowledge) would be good.

I then have one shallow dish for water and one plastic dish for mealworms and a calcium (without D3) to keep in there.

For substrate I just have newspaper and paper towels although I think I want to get a reptile carpet instead.