Humid Hide .... Potty?

suz830

Why did she choose her humid hide to poop in?!?!?!!?

I have had her about 1 week... she pooped in her cave the first time now she poops in her humid hide everytime.... I have moss in there so this could start to get expensive... I know I can put a paper towel in there but I like the moss and I have a whole box of it....

Is there anyway I can persuade her to poop somewhere else?

Anyone else's gecko poop in the humid hide... is this common?
I'm new to geckos so I don't know if this is common...

MichaelJ

CelebrityGeckos.Com
Once they decide where they like to poop, they generally revisit the same spot every day to do their business. I would suggest the following:
(1) switch to moist cocoa fiber - it's sold as a dry brick in your local pet store, you add water and it expands... one brick will last you forever. Spray with water every other day to keep humidity up in the moist hide. Change it out every 2 months.
(2) Move the moist hide to another area of the tank, obviously on the "cool" side.

So moving the hide should help throw her off and select another area to poop in... and if she still poops in the moist hide, it will be much less expensive!
Hope that helps!

suz830

I kinda rearranged her cage last night.... If I rearrange it again would it stress her out?

I haven't even had her for 1 week.

Srt14292

Est; 1992
you could try taking the moist hide out for a couple of days, get a sample of her fecal matter, wrap it up in a tissue, and put it in a corner you want her to poop in, when she starts pooping in that corner you can add the humid hide back and your problem should be solved.

T-ReXx

Uroplatus Fanatic
You know I've noticed a lot of my leopards like to poop in sphagnum moss. I switched to coir (Bed-A-Beast) in the boxes and they stopped pooping in the boxes.

SleepyDee