Im new to owning A leopard gecko And I need help

deathcomplex03

So basically this family had their leo for a little over a year but due to personal reasons they had to get rid of it so I took it in. They gave me the full enclosure and everything. Right now its running a basking light, a uvb light, and a red heat light for night time. My problem is To keep my room warm enough for it I had to take out my windows fan and close my windows because it was too cold in here. But It has been getting too hot in my room making sleeping and other activities a bit uncomfortable, and I also have a cricket pen, but I have no where to put it but my room, but because it is too hot the crickets are dying way too fast before feeding time for my leo, even tonight only one cricket was left alive to feed it and 4 giant meal worms. So the heat setup it has has apparently worked for a year, but Im very torn between keeping it and switching too a under tank heat mat and thermostat. I want to switch too a under tank heat mat because A. the basking light makes no sense seeing as my gecko stays in its hide till night time pretty much, and B. so I can keep my room cooler but still have a good source of heat so I know the gecko wont get too cold. also as far as food I dont know if I should switch to meal worms due to the crickets dying too quick. Also right now the gecko is running a a big rock hide in the corner, and a log hide on the other side of the tank but no moist hide and idk if I should switch it up and get a new hide. the substrate is also A fabric substrate and right now some calcium powder spilled and got rubbed into the fabric as well as the leopard gecko has a poop corner in which I have no Idea how to clean so I'm also thing about switching the the substrate. Any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated because I want to give my leo a good enclosure that also wont conflict with my other outside factors. I attached some files of my current set up.

Attachments

• image0.jpeg