Is 30 Gallons Too Big Of A Tank To Heat Regulate? Help A Newbie :)

Jaune

I am brand new to the lizard world and I'm trying to do as much reading as I can on the Care Sheets provided, but I still have a question.

I'm getting my 6 year old son an adult female Leopard Gecko for Christmas.

For a tank - I see that a long, low tank is best. I found one that is 36 x 18 x 12 for a reasonable price (as least I think so, $70).

My concern is - can I easily get the heat regulated correctly in that large of a tank? If I've got the heat pad on one side of the tank will that be enough for that large of a space? Do I need to get 2 heat pads?

Then do I use the 2 heat pads on one side of the tank so that that is my warm side and then nothing on the other side in order to have a cool side? Will 2 heat pads be too much?

I am well aware that it's going to be me doing the majority of the care for the animal. I have no plans to breed.

Neon Aurora

You didn't say what size your heat pad is. The general rule is that the heat pad should cover 1/3 of the tank, although I don't think it's a huge deal if its a bit smaller. What you have is probably fine. I personally wouldn't use two.

The warm side should have the heat pad and the heat pad should be regulated by a thermostat or lamp dimmer. The floor temperature should be measured either with a digital thermometer with a probe or a infrared temperature gun and should be 90 F.

The cool side doesn't need anything unless the room gets below 65, in which you might use a low wattage ceramic heat emitter to raise the temps just a bit.

Jaune

I don't have a heat pad yet. I wanted a bit more information prior to making a purchase.

So for the 1/3 idea the best would be for me to measure about that on the tank and then look for a heat pad which is close to the size I need vs what I was thinking that they are all one size.

I should have spent a bit more time looking at them when I was in the pet store!