It's a wonder how people can give such bad advice freely...

M

Merli

I'm still new to the lizard world, and back when I had the monster I was still rather uninformed and not really sure of things. When I first got her I took her to a pet store because I wasn't sure if she would survive or not (her tail was completely black and shriveled up, and I was really worried about it). But anyway, that's not the point of this post. The point is, the guy I talked to seemed knowledgeable to me, and so I thought he was well-informed on reptiles. I am interested in getting corn snakes in the future, and I specifically asked him if the tank he sold to me would be big enough to house corn snakes, he said yes.

The tank he sold me is 5.5 gallons.

I only learned recently through a little researching that a 5 gallon tank is barely big enough for anything! It suited my purposes because the monster was so small and she didn't really need a whole lot of space, but that's not the point. The point is he sold me a 5.5 gallon tank and told me it would be big enough for a corn snake. It's a good thing I've been researching --'.

nrich

not having had a gecko for long, I can't attest to the quality of herp advice, but I've kept fish for a few years and I am always astonished at the horrible advice I've heard when it comes to fish, from keeping a goldfish in a one gallon bowl to mixing male and female bettas.

I would never depend on a store clerk's advice. I am a true believer in doing my own research and seeking advice from multiple sources.

Leopard.Geckerz

Research is key with herps, I've heard a lot of scary advice over the years too, both first and second hand. And then again everyones standards can vary as well. What is okay to some, is not ok to others.

Alusdra

I think I might be more scared that you went to a pet shop with an animal you thought might die. That would be a question for a vet.

ajveachster