Just purchased my first Leopard Gecko (looking for help)

infinite.

Hello everyone!
(Sorry for the lengthy post)

I'm currently a college student who has been wanting a companion for a while. I'm taking a herpetology course and discovered how fascinated and obsessed I am with reptiles. I did a lot of research and decided that a Leopard Gecko would be the perfect companion. I've read so many different opinions online, and wanted to get your thoughts on if what I'm doing is correct or I need to change anything, and just to get any other tips/advice!

First, the gecko:
I purchased my Leopard Gecko, Honey, from a local reptile store here in town. I checked him out, and he seemed healthy and happy. I've had him home for four days so far and he's still adjusting to his new home.

Second, the basic cage set up:
I have a cool hide with moss in it, a large rock for him to hide in (it has a big hole in it), and another hide on the hot side of the tank that has three layers inside that he can climb about. All the hides are capable of being opened in case I need to get to him in an emergency. I also have a water dish out, and a heat mat under the right side of the tank. For the bottom I have reptile carpet. I also purchased a nocturnal infrared heat lamp, but have read mixed reviews on it and unsure whether to use it or not.

Third, I wanted to know more about handling:
My main concern is I don't want to be constantly bothering him by removing him from his hide. I want him to feel safe and undisturbed there. And although I know he's still adjusting to his new home, he never comes out from hiding, even at night and so I never get the chance to handle him unless I try to remove him from hiding.

Overall, my main questions are:
1. Do I need a calcium dish? And if so, what exactly do I purchase from the store?
2. Should I be concerned he isn't ever coming out to explore yet?
3. Is it safe to use the infrared heat lamp, or should I strictly rely on the heat mat?