Light that produces a little heat and UV also

geckomindy

I am new to leopard gecko care. We have a small reptile heater on the side of our tank. It keeps the “hot zone” around 70-73 degrees F. I read that leopard geckos also need a light that emits UV (not sure it’s its UVA or UVB). Does anyone know of a light that does both? A light that produces a little bit of heat (nothing too extreme since we have the reptile heating pad), and that also provides the gecko with the UV it needs for Vitamin d and calcium absorption? It seems everything I’m finding is one or the other, not both. Preferably something that is easy to use, maybe 24/7 so I don’t forget to turn it on and off, and a color that doesn’t disrupt their circadian rhythm. Thank you!

acpart

Geck-cessories
Staff member
Generally leopard geckos are provided with their calcium needs through supplements --calcium and vitamin D3. In the wild, they are crepuscular, which means they tend to come out and bask at dawn and dusk. In captivity, some of them spend all the daylight hours in their hides so the lights don't do much good. Zoomed does make some compact fluorescents that are full spectrum UV, you just have to check the box, but if you supplement properly you don't really need the lights. If you do choose to use one, get a simple timer and you won't have to remember to turn the lights on and off. Hopefully the 70-73 degree hot zone is air temperature measurement. The floor should be in the low 90's and needs to be checked with a thermometer with a probe. This is why most people put the heat under the bottom of the enclosure.

Aliza

indyana

There are not UV bulbs that don't also produce visible light at this point, so Aliza's rec for a timer is spot on. I personally use Exo Terra UVB 100 13 W bulbs, just about the lowest level you can find that's still useful, and my geckos love to bask at dawn and dusk.