My first

Northstar Herp

Rhacs and Uros, oh boy!!!
Got him/her Oct. 2 at the New England Reptile Expo, they're about three months old. Better pics to come... someday.

fimb1.jpg

T-ReXx

Uroplatus Fanatic
AWESOME man! Welcome to the world of Uroplatus keeping! And you started with my favorite species. :) That little one is young, they start off with the green and then it slowly changes to browns and tans as they grow. Starting with a young animal like that is a great thing, they adapt to captivity a lot easier than full adults. At 3 months old you should be able to tell sex in about 3-4 months. Congrats!

Northstar Herp

Alright, it's all I wanted to do to him just to get this picture. I'm really in uncharted territory for me with this critter. I love him to death already, but am very apprehensive in almost every way. I still think of myself as a real noob, and this is the most fragile herp I've ever tried to keep.

DSC_0030.jpg

Northstar Herp

Well, I'm pretty new to them, so there's a lot I have to learn. But they need high humidity and a pretty tight temperature range, so it's easy to mess that up. If they're enclosure gets into the mid 80's for a little while, they could die. Mine is captive bred, so it will be more forgiving than most, since the better percentage of them are Wild Caught still.

It's not as much that Fimbs are that fragile, but my other herps are leos, leachianus and a crestie... all pretty hardy species.

T-ReXx

Uroplatus Fanatic
Fimbs are actually pretty rock solid as far as husbandry goes, it's acclimation that's the real issue with them. They can tolerate higher temps better than many of the Uros, up into the low 80s without a problem, but I wouldn't go above 84. Being that that one is cb, you should have fewer problems than most people. Make sure you take lots of pics as it grows, I wanna see the color/pattern changes. Maybe you're lucky and he/she will turn into a pied! :)
'

Northstar Herp