Newbie questions on Fatties

warhawk77

I am a newbie when it comes to fat tail geckos. Well to tell the truth I'm still learning on leopard geckos also.

I have been researching Leos a lot and I think I have a basic understanding of whats a good set up and how to care for them. But I have seen very little on fat tails other then they are very close to the same.

I hope you guys/gals can help me with some questions on them. All the questions are comparing Leopard geckos and fat tail geckos.

1. Is there a size difference between leos and fatties?
2. Feeding is pretty much the same right? Crickets, worms, dubia,... dusting and gut loading.
3. Are there as many colors and types?
4. There looks to be a lot fewer breeders anyone know why?
5. Can you house more then one together?
6. Is there temperament any different?
7. Do they like handling better?
8. A lot of the pics I see online makes the two look a lot a like so I'm wondering if some are Leos just mislabeled. Can you tell the difference by looks?

Thanks I'm sure I will have more as I keep reading.

KTyne

Kayla
1. Yes there is a size difference, Fatties are generally a bit smaller.
2. Yes feeding is the same except Fat tails can be super picky and a lot will only eat Crickets.
3. No, not even close. Fat-tail morphs are in the early stages of discovery so there aren't as many morphs.
4. Not as many people breed AFTs because they aren't as prolific as Leos and they have the reputation of being hard to breed.
5. It is not recommended to house Geckos together.
6. AFTs are generally a lot calmer and not as spazzy.
7. Geckos don't like handling, they tolerate it a lot better yes.
8. Yes you can tell the difference, AFTs are smaller, shorter legs and toes, shorter snout, big do eyes, their eyes are almost always all black, etc.

UnderDogReptiles