Newbie worried about Gecko behavior

LivinLikeLee

Hey y'all. I'm a newbie reptile owner, who got a 3-4-year-old leopard gecko a couple of weeks ago. They've been living pretty peacefully in their terrarium until now. We don't actually know the gender, because the former owner was unsure. They've been acting really amicably and was very active the last couple of weeks until they suddenly started being a lot more aggressive, skittish, and difficult this last week. Before this, they would window surf once in a while and would want to leave the terrarium. They even let me try to rub some of their dead skin off while handling them. I've been trying to keep the space around them pretty relaxed, got calcium for their food (both one pure calcium and one with D3), the heating mat is at 77° Fahrenheit (25° Celsius) which I'm actively trying to fix, but has been that way since the former owner got them. There was a short period where they were addicted to super worms because I honestly didn't know better, but they're eating like normal again. In the beginning, there were a lot of new elements added to their habitat, but they didn't seem to mind. Nothing much has changed within this week, other than I added a new hide a week before. Being a beginner, I am trying to make their living situation the best possible, but I'm very worried that I've accidentally traumatized or mistreated my gecko somehow. Please help.

acpart

Geck-cessories
Staff member