Normal I think?

Neo.Reptiliac

I'm not very good at telling you the name of most ball python morphs. But I think that this one is a normal for sure. I got this one today and the owners didn't know much about reptiles so they couldn't even tell me the gender. I'm not sure what the gender is either though so I cant say much. I've never probed a snake so I guess I need to find someone who can. Anyways. Its around 4ft long. Has some stuck shed that its going to get cleared of as soon as it get settled in. Appears healthy, and is pretty calm and tame. Tell me what yall think =)

python-005.png

python-006.png

robin

he looks like a normal to me. as far as sexing you do not necessarily need to probe them. first off females have shorter tails than males (past the vent) but you can also easily sex then by putting your thumb around the vent area gently sliding your thumb down towards the end of the tail and you will be actually feeling for the hemipenes through the skin. if you are not sure ask someone to show you. this is the most safe and least invasive way of sexing. once you know how to do it, you can pretty much do it on most snakes but it's super easy on ball pythons :)
maybe this will work in the mean time

good luck with your new ball :)

Neo.Reptiliac

=) thanks. I will try that out and see what I can feel. This snake is really calm so I shouldn't have any trouble practicing on it.
lol show me a boa any day and I can sex it usually just by looking at it if its an adult. But I'm a rookie on sexing balls v.v

Neo.Reptiliac

I seriously don't think its a mojave. lol I love mojaves, I would recognize one, even a poor quality one. The pastels get me some time, I have a hard time telling them from normals lots of times. But I still think this is a normal. I felt a little while ago near the vent. What am I feeling for exactly? I didn't feel any thing out of the ordinary. Or at lease nothing that stood out.

robin