on being self-employed in a down economy

Northstar Herp

Rhacs and Uros, oh boy!!!
So I've been needing to go on a tirade for a while now, and this is about the safest place for that to happen without me losing business, so here it goes.

I've been a self-employed carpenter for over five years now, and I've learned a lot about business in that time. Lots of it is good, some not so good. It's the not so good stuff that I'm pretty tired of these days. I am not a hack. Please see my project link for pictorial evidence- www.northstarprojects.blogspot.com

I'm tired of people constantly telling me that I don't charge enough money and then bitching about the price when I give them one.

I'm tired of people trying to whittle me down because of their budget and then choosing really expensive fixtures.

I'm tired of people who don't know their carpenterial butt from a hole in the ground telling me how to do what I do. I kindly think that if you hire someone to do something, you should trust them enough to do it. Or the other option is to do it yourself.

I'm tired of people telling me that I should charge $25/hr based off of lord-know-what kind of rationale. Do they not know that I have insurances and licenses? What about no 401K? What about health insurance? Who's matching my social security or FICA? What about all the times when I do a job that takes 2 hours and then the rest of the day is shot? What about scheduling problems and whatnot that probably costs me 3 weeks per year in income? What about when I came over to look at your job, do I get paid for that? What about tool cleaning, truck maintenance, accounting and paperwork stuff?

I'm tired of people changing their minds on something and it costing me money (from lost time because the job gets held up), and then complaining about the smallest thing I do that they find inconvenient.