Question about my first hatchling

shannoneve

I'm very new to this so I'm sorry if this is a silly question. I've moved him to a new home with paper towel, food and water dishes and a small hide, he seems quite active and playful already but my only concern is that when I found him he had a small cut on his back, just above his tail and I have literally no clue how he could have gotten it ( looks quite similar to a bite my female had after mating) My question is, should I be cleaning the wound or just leave him to get used to his surroundings for a couple of days? any advice is welcome.

Very new to this and I had no intention of breeding but long story short the pet shop sold me 2 females back in October and now I have an incubator full of eggs :p

shannoneve

1 (2).JPG

This was it this morning, I think there was still a few small bits of vermiculite stuck to it at the time because it looks slightly cleaner around it now

CharmedMom

He needs to go the vet ASAP.
It's not normal for a hatchling to have a cut or open sore like that.
If left untreated it could get infected and lead to death.

shannoneve

oh my, trying my best to find a vet nearby that deals with reptiles but it could prove difficult =[ Its midnight here so any advice for until I find somewhere to bring him?

CharmedMom

Personally I've never had to deal with an open sore like that so I'm not sure I can help. Hopefully someone with more experience can comment.
Otherwise your best bet would be to probably search the net for info on treating an open sore on a hatchling. Sorry I wish I could be more help.
Good luck to you and please keep us updated.

shannoneve