"Second Level" add to my leo enclosure

BamBam0919

Hello, I'm Brittani and I'm new to this specific gecko forum. I haven't been on a forum in quite some time because life got busy, but I am glad to be back to talking to people who love and care for herps just as much! So, I have a 20 gallon long enclosure that I am moving 2 of my leos into. I want to add a "second level" of sorts to add some space and something different than anything I've done before. I've come across a few people who has done it, but I wanted to get some of your suggestions and ideas as well. So far, my fiance and I got the posts and base outline of the level almost ready. We're using PVC piping to create the legs and feet as well as a base outline to create more stability. I know I would like to use tile of some sort for the substrate on that level, and heat tape underneath, and something to also be underneath the heat tape (haven't figured out what's safest to use just yet); so that the heat tape is sanwiched between. A ramp will provide access to the second level, and I'm going to use hot glue to provide a better grip for climbing up the ramp. Mainly, the second level will just provide a hide and a great view to the tank below. We just figured we would do something a little different and add another dimension to the tank for the geckos (I feel as if they get bored of the same old, same old). Any suggestions or ideas would be appreciated!

Thank you!

indyana

Sounds interesting! You could probably sandwich the heat tape between tiles if you added spacers to create a gap. You might need to regulate the heat tape with a thermostat for safety, so leave a gap large enough for the thermostat temperature probe.

I know people build structures out of foam and coat in layers of grout for a rock effect, so you could look into doing that as well. A lot messier than tile, but you could build some really cool and light-weight structures.
Lizard care, and fake rock wall landscapes