Using GEO's

Shrapnailed

Has anyone used the GEO's? Just wondering as I am using them for the past week for my second clutch and do not want to dry my eggs out too much or allow them to get too wet. Its my first year breeding and I do have some questions and not too many people around my area breed.

stager

I used for the first time last season. My females hatched 100% but my males probably only 20% I have cheap incubators and have heard using geo with them can dry eggs. But I will try again this season by lowering male incubator temps.

Shrapnailed

was just curious if i need the substrate barely touching the underside of the GEO or if they need to be levitated slightly from the medium?

cowana

I am using Coco Fiber. I was already using it as the medium for my moist hides and a lot of the experts and breeder said it was what they found worked best for a lay box so it could do double duty for me. The geckos can dig in it, easier to control moisture levels than moss, and made it really easy for me to see when she was about to lay. She threw the dirt out of the box everywhere. Haha

I haven't had problems with eating the coco fiber. Mine don't try to lick it for moisture like they might the moss, and my feeders (mealworms and dubias) can't get inside so they won't bite towards the loose substrate.

Here is where she threw the dirt out the night before she laid. (Note: My entrance is on the side not on top)

0ea15d288742cc8e2fbf8a24865be6c4.jpg

Boa'sUnlimited

Shape Shifter
I am using Coco Fiber. I was already using it as the medium for my moist hides and a lot of the experts and breeder said it was what they found worked best for a lay box so it could do double duty for me. The geckos can dig in it, easier to control moisture levels than moss, and made it really easy for me to see when she was about to lay. She threw the dirt out of the box everywhere. Haha