Can geckos swim?

U

Untide

Not that I am going to find out...just was wondering if they can swim.

U

Untide

Well very true but...deserts have flash floods once in awhile.

leonut

Well, considering they have big plump bodies and tiny little legs, i don't think they can swim well, if at all. but i'm not an expert.

fallen_angel

Fallen Angel's Geckos
Hmm.. bearded dragons have plump bodies and small legs and they can swim surprisingly well lol.. I am not sure about leopard geckos though. Most of them really don't even like to be in water at all.

P

piratitude

Two of my girls love to be in water.. They don't swim per se, but they float easily enough.

U

Untide

I would LOVE to see a picture or a video of swimming leos piratitude.

Golden Gate Geckos

Mean Old Gecko Lady
Since leopard gecko's natural habitiat does not have bodies of water, I doubt they are equipped for swimming. Also, I have had a gecko drown in less than 1/2 inch of water while soaking him, and know of many hatchlings that drown in water bowls.

nats

I guess most animals can swim enough to save themselves in a emergency,
but that's about it.

S

samthebigkid

think of it like this:
if you dropped a gecko off a cliff, would it suddenly learn to fly?

S

samthebigkid

think of it like this:
if you dropped a gecko off a cliff, would it suddenly learn to fly?

S

samthebigkid

Swimming and flying are completely different though...

not really, they're both things geckos can't do
basically, geckos have no physical appendages that are designed for either. While I'll admit, a gecko is more likely to swim than fly, odds are neither is happening

T

thegeckoguy

I think if it were a life or death situation, they could probably figure out how to swim but again, odds are probably slim

HillDog