Can anyone give me a detailed guide on racks?

QuartzYellowjacket

Right now I feel kinda stupid, so I came here from Tegutalk. Because I had a gecko when I was 10, and until now I wanted to get a gecko again. So I looked up some information on racks, but only found ads for racks. But my question is: Are racks permanent homes for geckos? And if so how do they get heat and uvb?

LeoLover1

3 Year Member
Welcome! I am not an expert, but I can help you some! Most gecko species are nocturnal and do not need UVB. Heat is provided by some form of heat tape (similar to an UTH) that runs along the back of the rack, and under all the cages. But only under part of each cage, so the animals can have a heat gradient.

Racks are considered permanent housing. Personally, I don't like not being able to watch my geckos, so I've stuck to having way too many tanks! :rolleyes: What kind of geckos are you interested in?

Caleb C

Yeah, I think it depends on the species. For terrestrial species, racks are fine, i'm not sure about arboreal. Animalplastics, boaphileplastics, vision products, freedom breeders, and some other companies sell them. Heat is usually provided by flexwatt, which is heat tape. You connect it to a thermostat, which controls the temps, and run for around 100 dollars.

QuartzYellowjacket

Welcome! I am not an expert, but I can help you some! Most gecko species are nocturnal and do not need UVB. Heat is provided by some form of heat tape (similar to an UTH) that runs along the back of the rack, and under all the cages. But only under part of each cage, so the animals can have a heat gradient.

Racks are considered permanent housing. Personally, I don't like not being able to watch my geckos, so I've stuck to having way too many tanks! :rolleyes: What kind of geckos are you interested in?
Well when I was 10 I had a leopard gecko, and I want to get back into them along with some other kinds.

Geckomaster743