Crested Geckos and more!

jfreemo75

3 Year Member
Hi! We just started breeding crested geckos this year, but it is sure taking off! We've had 23 babies and have 6 eggs to go for this season. We sold our first little guy this past weekend. It was sad to see him go, but that's to be expected for a breeder. I would love to keep all of them! I am no expert, yet, but if anyone has any questions about breeding, feel free to ask. If I don't have an answer for you, I will make sure I can get it.
We are also working with uroplatus sikorae, but they are a bit more tricky to get going. Calcium is the issue for the females. If they don't have enough calcium in their diet, they won't produce eggs. The incubation for the eggs is really precise, and we haven't gotten it 100% yet. We've had quite a few eggs, but only 5 have hatched so far, and 4 have survived. They are not as hardy as crested when they are born and require alot of humidity, which can be difficult to obtain here in Illinois in the coller months. We are working on it though!
The last group we are working with right now are leopard geckos. This came about by accident though. My daughters each got a baby leopard gecko at the end of last year. We were told they were both temperature sexed (incubated at a certain temp to get either male or female), but one of them turned out to be a male, and by the time we realized it, it was a little too late. Oops! We had eggs in the cage! We first thought that they were both just laying duds (before we realized they were a male and female) and we threw them away. After we figured it out, we saved the eggs, and now have 3 babies and 2 more eggs.
Next year we will hope to get eggs from our cave gecko pair. Fingers crossed for a good season!

I understand what you are sayin man and I totally agree and also I'm here to answer anyone's questions also on geckos or I will find it also but anyways thanks for sharing man :)

geckogoldie

3 Year Member