Death = advice for all

scintillatingstar

Well... It has not even been 7 days, and one of my Sikorae died. He was alive and thriving last night, looking great. Woke up this morning to find him dead on the ground. He had moss hanging out of his mouth. When the moss was pulled out there was a cricket and more moss in his throat.

My only conclusion is that he choked on the moss. I do not understand, as the moss is said to be safe by all, and he even came with some in his plastic cup when i bought him. My advice, dont keep moss on your cage floors.

T&KBrouse

K, the Crazy Snake Lady
Oh no... I'm really sorry to hear you lost him. :(
I'm still learning about geckos, but one would think that moss designed specifically for these little guys would be safe.
Thank you for the warning.

Last edited:

MonteQ's

Sorry to hear about your loss. :(

I don't have any experience with Sikorea. However, Svatek and Van Dunn's book suggest a mix of coco fiber and sand. Covered with leaf litter or bark chips. Some people suggest sphagmum or orchid moss, but they both make me a little nervous.

I've been using the coco fiber minus sand for my phantasticus for a while now. When I first got them, I was just using Eco Earth, and my female I saw ingesting a little bit, so I added the bark chips. I haven't seen her ingest any since. You might want to add a layer of Leca or gravel under this for drainage. All my plants have been thriving too with out any fertilizer. Hope this helps. Again sorry to hear about you loss. Good luck with the female.

scintillatingstar