different thought for live plants in my enclosures

Jetfire

I did it. I got bored and redid my garg and crested cages; new bedding, rearranging, etc...when it occurred to me to try some kind of live plant to spice things up. I wanted something that was cheap (in case of accidental uprooting by nesting females who absolutely refuse to consider using nestboxes), nontoxic,hardy, and not garish.then it hit me..
I turned parts of my enclosures into essentially Chia pets. I just scattered seeds in patches, watered them down, and am now waiting somewhat patiently.they've started to sprout, but I'm gonna wait a couple days to take pics, let them grow a bit. I did the areas around my tarantulas water dishes, too, so now the crickets free roaming the tanks get something to snack on.

Amanda1

3 Year Member
Good idea! I'm just getting into using live plants in terrarium since I've got my tree frogs. Moss always looks nice, and dandelions and pothos are easy to grow. I've got a bromeliad too, they look really neat. There are about 4 other kinds of plants in there I can't identify (I didn't plant it myself, just bought it). But I really love the natural look, and I'm sure it makes the frogs and geckos feel more at home too. Just remember you need to have some sort of drainage system so the plants aren't just sitting in water all the time. They die if you don't (speaking from experience).

Amanda1

3 Year Member
Ah, good call. I tried to grow dandelions for my tortoise one and failed miserably. I was never very good with plants.

Jetfire

I'm not anticipating a long lifespan for these plants,I don't exactly have a green thumb myself.good thing Chia seeds are crazy cheap

Eve Saint

That is so funny. We had a big container of chia seeds here that would be added to various human food. So I decided to grow some in the tank last year. It looked Lovely!

Eve Saint