Difficult hatchling

Fishbone

Hi all. This is my first year breeding leos. For the most part, things have gone well. My first 12 hatchings have all done great! And thanks to everyone here, I have pilfered allot of info from various threads.

So, my question, and my problem, is with my most recent hatchling, which hatched last sun, 07/02. It is very small, less than 2 grams, and still had a yolk sac attached. I kept him in a small, damp container @ 85-86°, he absorbed what was left of the yolk over the next few days. He was originally walking very clumsily, but that seems to have gotten better. But now that is he is acting more like a normal hatchling, he still has almost no interest in food. I've broken mealworms in half, smashed waxworms & butterworms, etc... He has licked a little occasionally, but not much. He defecated for the first time two days ago, and had most of his first shed the day before that. It wasn't complete, and took a few days. I helped get most of it off his tail, and have soaked him to try to get it of of his feet. He is so tiny there its not much I can do.

I normally don't worry much about this, but he seems so weak and fragile. Is there any successful way of assist feeding a neonate leo? And/or how long should I wait until I really worry?

Thanks for reading!

katie_

Wonder Reptiles
This would be an example of one of the many hardships of breeding. Some hatching fail to thrive, an often there is little to nothing you can do. I hope he pulls through, good luck.

acpart

Geck-cessories
Staff member
Congratulations on your hatchlings to date. Even normal sized geckos sometimes take over a week to start eating. Keep offering. You can also hold the gecko gently in your hand and poke a mealworm at its mouth. Most hatchlings will bite and it may eat the mealworm. Worst case, it won't thrive, but I've had many tiny ones do just fine.

Aliza

rigomez4