Fat Tail eggs

UKFatties

Hi all,

I am relatively new to breeding fat tails and have a few questions on eggs.

One of our females is producing eggs but none of them seem to be surviving more than few days/2weeks in the incubator. They seem to start sinking in and going mouldy and smelling. We are unsure if these are just infertile eggs.

We believe we have the conditions for incubation are correct, The temps in the incubator range from 28.9C (84F) to 29.6 (85F) inside the boxes so I think this is in parameters for fattie eggs as I know they are more sensitive than other species. In terms of moisture i am using vermiculite and there is condensation on the sides of the boxes where the vermiculite goes upto but nothing on the roof/exposed sides of the box. I think this is correct? If I have this wrong could somebody please help.

The eggs are like firm bags of liquid and don't really have a "shell" to speak of. Is this normal (as when I have bred cresties in the past their eggs are very different with a very hard shell)?? When I candle them they look yellow. When I have done a little research i have read that there should be a small red dot/blob if they are fertile. I can't see this in any of the egg. We have had 6 eggs so far and all seem to have gone bad. I am really stumped as to where I am going wrong could someone please help/give me some advice?:(

Garrett_Keith

Gecko Addict
Hmm sounds like their just infertile. The incubation sounds spot on. Because if they are sunk in id say its not moist enough but you said theres moisture on the container so thats not it. Is the male living with her? He probably is just throwing blanks :main_robin:

geckobabies

African Fat Tails <3
It is not uncommon for first time females to lay bad eggs. It happens. Your parameters sound fine to me. From your description my guess would be weak/infertile eggs.

UKFatties