Faux rock back ground

Here are some pictures of the faux rock backgrounds I made a while ago for my leos. Basically I glued some Styrofoam together and carved away. Then I added grout and allowed to dry then painted with non toxic paints.

I am well aware of the risk that is why I feed them in separate containers. Thank you for your concern. Sand just gives the tank a more natural feeling and is easier to clean than the other substrates.

MiamiLeos

that looks really cool! i have been thinking about doing that for my leos. good job with the background :)

ill let Reptar have the sand debate ;)

I have been keeping my geckos on sand for maybe 6 years and have never experienced a case of impaction. I plan on eventually making a large faux rock piece to fill the whole cage, and then there will be no sand. But sand works for me and has never caused me any problems, so I will stick to what does best for me. Also they do not lick everything; there are chemo receptors on their tongues so they are "smelling" the air. This allows them to find food, mates, other geckos, and predators. The only time that they would lick everything is when there is water and they are licking that up.

Last edited:

neubauer geckos

Anthony Neubauer
I am well aware of the risk that is why I feed them in separate containers. Thank you for your concern. Sand just gives the tank a more natural feeling and is easier to clean than the other substrates.

sand is not natural too them.they are from pakistan in the parts with hardened and compacted clay so sand isn't natural at all too them.it is only natural "looking" to the human eye,not too the gecko.i might just be over protective of my geckos,idk.i am not trying to tell you that you are wrong,i am just saying a fact.

maximusx6910