Flexwatt experienced people please help.

Ehatcher

I recently built a rack and used flexwatt to heat it. i insulated the flexwatt with the connectors that they sent, plus i filled the insulators with silicone and covered the area around the outside of the insulators with silicone. I taped the other end off with a 3 layer thick section of electrical tape.

Now to my problem, When i lay my hand on the flexwatt i feel nothing, but when i put a single finger on the flexwatt i get an semi-intense electrical tingle. Ive also noticed that it also makes a buzzing sound comparible to a fluorescent light when doing this. I wouldnt be worried if it were only one of the tiers doing this, but it happens on all 5 tiers. Does the flexwatt put off a slight electrical current? help, Im stumped.

Russ S

Re-Member
I have been using Flexwatt for almost 10 years and I have personally never experienced anything like this. Sorry but I can't help you.

Ehatcher

Alright... im am COMPLETELY stumped. I turned the Thermostat off of proportional mode and to on/off, and the slight current is gone as well as the buzzing.. :main_huh: :main_huh: :main_huh:

Seems like the current was only there when the temperatures were near the target temperature set to proportional mode.

I have no problem leaving the the thermostat set to on/off because the temperatures only fluctate from 95.5 to 95.0 before it kicks back on.

Last edited:
P

preacher

How wide is the heating tape? How long is the total (in feet) of heating tape are you wireing to the Thermostat? Each Thermostat is rated to a set number of watts, and the heat tape is a set number of watts per foot and the total watts can't be more than the rating of the Thermostat.

When I first built a rack I had a similar problem, I had to much tape (in watts needed) for the Thermostat I was using, I heard the buzzing also. I ended up ruining it.

Don't know if this will help, hope you get it worked out. :)

Ehatcher