Gecko's - Breeding Trouble.

Geckomaster743

From reading a couple of Thread posts I've begun to worry. I have 3 Leopard Gecko's stored in a 20 Gallon Enclosure, From reading I've heard that if they breed before they are under weight this can cause some real bad health problems... Right now there is a Baby Leopard Gecko Female in there and another Female about the same age as the Male gecko in there with her. Is it possible that they would breed now? They Get along very well but she should not have egg's at this Age.. Should i separate them? By guessing i could say she's 32-33 Grams. She's not a Baby but she's a lot smaller the Older gecko i have Separated and he weigh's almost 45-50 Grams. So what do i do? I would go mad if she died.

jfreemo75

3 Year Member
I'm no expert on leos, but I do know that you should not house opposite sexes together if you are not wanting them to breed. If they breed too young or under a certain weight it can be very harmful to their health. I would take the male out for now, until you are absolutely sure you want to breed them and the younger female is about 45 grams. Or, you could take the smaller female out if you are wanting to breed and let the male and larger female be togehter. My daughter's have a pair of leos that were supposedly 2 females. One turned out to be a male and the female laid eggs a bit early, but thankfully she was an awesome eater and was large enough to be able to handle laying the eggs.
Hope everything works out and let us know what you decide to do.

Geckomaster743

Alright thanks. All 3 Geckos in the 20 Gallon Get along. They Sleep on top of each other, They interact with each other in a friendly way and when its feeding time no one bully's because every one knows they will get there worms.. Im not sure i want to Separate him because he's gotten to be VERY social rather then the older gecko who i had to separate because of his aggression. Hmmm... Any one else's thoughts? Thanks for the feedback jfreemo.