handling tokay

T

tokay_kid

Is there a way to tame my 9 inch tokay gecko.If so how do i do it.the guy i ordered her from says she is wild caught.

S

sportbike_rob

i hear it is very very hard to tame tokays, im new to geckos so i cant really give you solid advise other than just keep doing your general maintenence/cleaning of your tank, and take little baby steps to slowly get him used to you over a period of a few months. i have also heard that it will have to do with the gecko's own personality too as to how tame it wil be. and if you just got him within a day or so, leave it alone for a while until he gets used and adapted to his new surroundings. thats the only advise i can give you, and that is coming from my experiance which is only with fat tails, so dont really quote me on this i may be wrong.

GeckoStud

Fatty Fatty Boomballaty
Good luck, you will need it. I'm not saying its impossible to tame a Tokay, but I am saying its improbable, especially for a wild caught too. Just my two cents, and seriously I hope you succeed, It would be cool to see a tame one.

dragonflyreptiles

Resident PITA
Your gonna get bit and that's just life, I never minded the bites too much and I did calm down a few WC's I got in a few years ago. I don't think you can take all of the wild out of them no matter you do so just be prepared to be bit a lot, its just the way they are.

ReptileMan27

Handling is the only way, I personally dont reccomend it. Their really more display animals, they dont do well with handling. I only handled mine when I had to and I hated doing that because it stresses them alot. Your best bet for getting a nice one, is to get a CB one.

X

xraverxbabyx