Hi Im Nicole

N

nicolenadia

Hi All,
About 2 years ago, I went to a non chain pet store to buy some dog food. A friend of mine, who has more rescued reptiles than anyone I know, was sick and I wanted to get him a leopard gecko as a gift. I ended up keeping her since he didn't know when he could take her. It all started from there and 12leos later, I am here. My co workers refer to me as the Gecko lady, almost like a cat lady. I am a professional photograher, so I photograph my gecko "children" quite often. Im not into mass breeding and selling right now. I am learning as much as I can and really enjoying them. I have a female ball python also. Eventually, I would like to start a rescue in my area. I sucessfully hatched a clutch from my very first female leo. They are beautiful lavander/high yellow babies. All my females are gravid right now and Im still debating whether I want to incubate them. If I buy a new rack next month, I most likely will, but I won't sell them.

I have become very interested in terraiums. I have a large dessert habitat with live plants in a 30 long, with 1 male and 3 females. The rest of my leos are in a rack. I explained in another post how I use sand, but not colored or pet store sand. I bake kids play sand from Home Depot and mix it with vermiulite, organic potting soil, river bed rocks and some plant charcoal for humidity absorbtion. They have been doing great in the tank for over a year.I do not feed them crickets. I only feed them super worms, wax worms on occasion and pinkies. I use plate for the worms, so they still get to "hunt", but they don't end up eating sand with their worms. They will run up to my tongs when they see pinkies and eat right from the tongs. I believe this is the key to success when choosing to keep them on sand.

I will post pictures eventually.

Nice to meet you all.

N

nicolenadia

gecko_tank_2.jpg