I'm just getting started.

SusieLou

3 Year Member
Hey. I'm planning on getting a leopard gecko. I'm totally new to this type of reptile. So I have a few questions and I'd really truly love any advice.

I have a 20 gallon fish tank that will be housing my new friend.
Is 20 gallons too big, due to the fact that there's a larger area that needs heating?
Will I need to provide only one hide, or more because of the size of the enclosure?
What type of moss and how much should be good for the moist bedding area?
If feeding it crickets should I provide it another food source as well? Such as what?
When doing research it mentioned a bowl of calcium? Vitamins were also mentioned. Could I have the calcium supplement and vitamin supplement in the same bowl?
Can someone explain gut-loading the crickets? I'm not sure I quite understand the reason for this or how to go about doing it.
I know that with sand there are a lot of problems with impaction. I was going to go with the reptile rug. What are your opinions on that?
Uhm, I think that that's all I got for now.
Thank you!

Gopherhockey03

Hey. I'm planning on getting a leopard gecko. I'm totally new to this type of reptile. So I have a few questions and I'd really truly love any advice.

I have a 20 gallon fish tank that will be housing my new friend.
Is 20 gallons too big, due to the fact that there's a larger area that needs heating?
Will I need to provide only one hide, or more because of the size of the enclosure?
What type of moss and how much should be good for the moist bedding area?
If feeding it crickets should I provide it another food source as well? Such as what?
When doing research it mentioned a bowl of calcium? Vitamins were also mentioned. Could I have the calcium supplement and vitamin supplement in the same bowl?
Can someone explain gut-loading the crickets? I'm not sure I quite understand the reason for this or how to go about doing it.