Just finished my first rack

Northstar Herp

Rhacs and Uros, oh boy!!!
I did this mainly to get ready for breeding season, to save space, and conserve my power bill. It's nor perfect by any means, but it will hold 9 individually housed leos and has my crestie and carpet python on top. 7ft. of 3" heat tape for the rack and two UTH's for the glass tanks, four leos residing in the rack now. Extra space, because you just never know, do you???

I fit all my gear in the unused sections, and condensed quite a bit over the previous setup. One of the biggest improvements is that are no lids to take off inside the rack. The thermostat is a Ranco on/off. 3/4" plywood body with a walnut faceframe. I'm a carpenter, so I had it lying around.

rack1.jpg

MiamiLeos

love it!! im still building up the courage to start on my rack. ill need to do it relatively soon though lolol yours looks so nice and clean cut.

Northstar Herp

Did you run strips under the shelves for support, or are they screwed directly to the sides?

The outside box pieces are rabbeted to accept the 1/4" plywood that covers the back. They are glued and stapled together with 1/4"x 1.5 inch staples, then the back plywood is glued and stapled inside that. That's what really give it rigidity. Then the interior shelves are cut to fit inside the plywood back. They are glued and stapled from the sides, and then glued and stapled through the back plywood. The staples do the trick, but it's really just to hold tight until the glue dries, that's what holds it.

I used yellow glue, because that's what I found first, but polyurethane glue is better (like a gorilla glue). Just remember to wet one surface before you join, since it requires moisture to cure.

Someday I'll make a more serious and aesthetically pleasing rack, but someday ain't today. It sure is nice having everything so compact though.

Tony C

Wayward Frogger