New to arboreal gecko’s

Skar

I’m considering a gargoyle, I’m looking for more clarity on feeding.
Do you need to buy the premade mixes ?
Can you use crix and mashed fruit or baby food ?

Do I need to use spring or distilled water ?

Appreciate the insight.

Deano715

I know nothing about gargoyles but as for water, l have a Leo and a dog and we all drink spring water. It retains minerals as where distilled removes everything incliding the minerals.

acpart

Geck-cessories
Staff member
I've been keeping gargoyle, crested and leachie geckos for more than 15 years. I mix their food with tap water and I mist their cages with reverse osmosis water so I don't end up with mineral deposits on the glass cages. While it's possible to make your own food, I do feel that the "complete diets" are more likely to provide everything that your gecko needs. That said, when I got my first day gecko, the day gecko expert who's recommendations I was following suggested that I feed my gecko fruit baby food with some calcium mixed in and I kept her for 12 years.
Currently I feel that while you can make your own food, there's a better chance that your gecko will be properly nourished and supplemented with a commercially prepared complete diet. This doesn't mean that you can't feed it crushed fresh fruit as well.
I feed all my CGD ("Crested Gecko Diet") eaters, which includes 5 crested geckos, 8 gargoyle geckos, 1 leachie and 2 day geckos, on Tuesday and Friday evenings and I feed them dusted crickets on Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings. My geckos range in age from 6-17.

Aliza

Skar