Newbie here w/ Newbie Q's!!

F

FoHGoR

Hello All!

My name is Kris and I've always wanted to start an amphibian or reptile terrarium. Well, my son, Kristoffer, is at the age (4) where he's really into creepy crawly things, so I'm going to use this Christmas as an excuse to put together a home for our first pet gecko. Because of their habitats and the fact that they're not always hiding in a cave during the day, I've decided on starting with a Crested Gecko or two. Though I think I would like to also start a second cage with one of the many gorgeous leo's I've seen on this board.

On to my newbie questions:

1) What do the numbers that are next to the gecko breads represent, i.e. 1.0.1?

2a) I'm having trouble understanding the term, "HET". I know it has to do with the animals genes, but that's all.

2b) Is there a chart/website that will explain what, "Super Giant Tangerine CT Jungle 100% Het Albino Male" and "Giant APTOR X Red Stripe X APTOR" might mean? I look at one with one description then look at another with a different, but the gecko looks the same?? I guess I'll get it in time...

3) Are live plants a good idea with Cresties? If so, where can I find a list of safe plants?

4) If the care sheets are similar can two different breeds of geckos be housed together? (I'm thinking not, but I thought I'd ask)

Okay, I think that's it for now, but if I can think of anything else you'll be hearing for me.

One last thing - this site is great. It's members seem more than willing to help out the rest of the beginners and I've yet to see any of the flaming that I've seen on other (non-gecko) boards. [/butt kissing]

Regards,
Kris

eyelids

Bells Rule!
FoHGoR said:
Hello All!