Please help me choose the right Flexwatt heat tape?

tb144050

Can anyone tell me from experience (or link to a data page) what the specs are on the different available heat tapes?

I will find an appropriate thermostat after I build my rack/minihabitat, but first I want to make sure that the heattape I buy is VERY capable of heating the thick plastic tubs.

Please give me feedback/advice about the different watt-ratings and width-ratings? As an amateur, I would prefer the 4" because it would provide a wider "hotside" than the 3" tapes. However, the 4" tape is only 5watts??.....and the 3" is available in 6watts & 10watts..

So will the 4" give me temps over 90F (in a 70-degree room) or is it under-powered? Any other suggestions? Is eBay the best price/brand?

Thanks!! :)

ps....this rack/minihabitat will be a home for my future breeders. ....one step closer...

Last edited:

DrCarrotTail

The racks I purchased came with 3" tape. I think 4" may be a bit over kill unless you're using a rack for 30qt+ tubs the long way. You want the tape to be thin enough to still provide a proper heat gradient. I don't know what different kinds of flex watt exist so I'm no help in comparing and contrasting them. I would probably go with the lower wattage unless you're using an unenclosed rack (like a set of wire shelves - not recommended...) in a cold room. I'm planning to re-wire one of my existing racks and was planning to get the THG tape from pangea reptile but may explore other options before deciding.

tb144050

Thanks for the info!! Unfortunate, I just made arrangements to pick up some stuff Friday for $125 total, and it includes wire-shelves:

-wire shelves
-10ft unused 3" 4watt tape
-3ft used wired-up 3" 4watt
-about $40/worth of random sized tubs
-Hobovator (I know to use a better thermostat) :)
-8oz new Vermiscule (or however u spell it)