Which size enclosure?

acpart

Geck-cessories
Staff member
In my opinion, the minimal size for an adult is 18"x18'x18" with a preference for 18x18x24. I have found from experience that the 12x12x18 is just not big enough for an adult. By contrast, a juvenile should start in a much smaller enclosure, as small as a shoebox sized tub.

Aliza

lizzy008

In my opinion, the minimal size for an adult is 18"x18'x18" with a preference for 18x18x24. I have found from experience that the 12x12x18 is just not big enough for an adult. By contrast, a juvenile should start in a much smaller enclosure, as small as a shoebox sized tub.

Aliza
Thanks much. Can a juvenile cresty thrive in a larger tank? A 12x12x24 size or is a smaller one required?
And any tank sellers/brands you’d favor. I was interested in DIY Cages but they’re out of stock.

Last edited:

lizzy008

Any opinions on the Zoo Med Reptibreeze? I have some experience raising reptiles and it’s often advised to not go with enclosures from Petsmart and Petco. Any help would be great. Thanks much

acpart

Geck-cessories
Staff member
If you're getting a tiny crested gecko, you can start it in a 5 gallon tank which is very easy to get hold of. Once it hits 15-20 grams and is eating reliably, you can probably go with the full size enclosure. I've been very happy with Exo Terra and Zoomed is OK as well. There are others which are good too. The reptibreeze, if it's a screen cage, will not keep in enough humidity.

Aliza

lizzy008

If you're getting a tiny crested gecko, you can start it in a 5 gallon tank which is very easy to get hold of. Once it hits 15-20 grams and is eating reliably, you can probably go with the full size enclosure. I've been very happy with Exo Terra and Zoomed is OK as well. There are others which are good too. The reptibreeze, if it's a screen cage, will not keep in enough humidity.

Aliza