Completely fresh off the boat new! MA

B

blarklark

Hello my name is Karl,
As of now I'm just starting to learn about keeping gecko's. My first thoughts was going to be to get an Anole. But soon after I did some online reading I found they don't like to be held have bad tempers and are usually sickly. So instead I found a link to Leopard Gecko's and was pumped to know all the wonderful characteristics they have.
I have a very small baby boy by the name of Leo. Yeah how original. Leo as in lion. I got Leo from a Petsmart pet store. I was searching like crazy hoping there was a gecko in the tank when he came out of nowhere and looked me in the eyes. First day I got him he allowed me to hold him and I never have to grab him. He climbs on my hand freely which helps. From recent chat's with some folk from his site they tell he is going to be a tangerine Morph.
The reason I'm here is... the helper at Petsmart sent me home with a basking light. I soon found out through research that Leopard Gecko's eyes can be hurt but sunlight based bulbs. So now I use an info-red bulb and that event got me searching for an information hub since I don't trust them.

Yesterday was my first experience with Leo shedding his skin. At first it was just odd. I was a bit afraid I was going to have to help him with my pair of tweezers. But turns out he did fine on his own.

My main goal is to keep Leo happy and healthy and I thought this would be the best choice for connections. :)
Anyways, I think thats long enough for an introduction.
~Karl

DSCN0890.jpg

DSCN0902.jpg

DSCN0865.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

moosassah

The question is did petsmart take the light back & apologize for selling you the wrong thing? Talk to the manager.